From Bohemia to the whole world

The name Mautner was first mentioned in 1690 in the lease of a distillery in Smiřitz near Königgrätz. The family already owned a relatively large brewery under the rule of Kameralherchaft when Adolf Ignaz Mautner (1801 – 1889), like many other merchants at that time, moved to Vienna 150 years later. There he succeeded through several innovations and “diligence and will”, the motto, which is also found in the family coat of arms, the ascent to the great industrialist.

Together with his wife Julie Marcelline (née Kadich; 1812 – 1887) he had no less than 10 children and 72 grandchildren and thus not only laid the foundation for economic success, but also founded a dynasty which has continued to this day. The family has hundreds of members and is related to many other dynasties worldwide through marriage.

His sons Carl Ferdinand (1824 – 1896) and Georg Heinrich (1840 – 1904) expanded the company (1864 foundation of the press yeast and spirit factory in Wien-Floridsdorf, 1983 foundation of the brewery St. Georg); their brewery was the third largest in Europe.

Under his grandson, Victor (1865 – 1919), the brewery St. Marx was merged with Dreher-Meichl to form Vereinigte Brauereien Schwechat, St. Marx, Simmering AG.

This was followed by Georg Heinrich´s sons Theodor I. (1869 – 1947) and Georg Anton (1875 – 1934), who took over Victor’s yeast and spirit production in St. Marx as well as the branch in Simmering.

Theodor’s sons Gerhard (1901 – 1971) and Manfred I. (1903 – 1981) and Georg Anton’s sons Georg III. Heinrich (Buwa) (1904 – 1982) and Gustav (1909 – 1970) – all great-grandchildren of Adolf Ignaz – played an important role in the family business, which also included a significant share of the Schwechat brewery.

Prof. Dr. h.c. Manfred Mautner Markhof (1927 – 2008) and Georg J. E. Mautner Markhof (1926 – 2008), both great-great grandsons, were the most important entrepreneurs of the family in the 20th century.

Von Böhmen in die ganze Welt

Der Name Mautner wird erstmals 1690 im Mietvertrag einer Brennerei in Smiřitz bei Königgrätz erwähnt. Die Familie besaß bereits eine verhältnismäßig große Brauerei auf der Kameralherrschaft, als es Adolf Ignaz Mautner (1801 – 1889), wie viele andere Kaufleute zu dieser Zeit, 150 Jahre später in die Haupt- und Residenzstadt Wien zog. Dort gelang ihm durch mehrere Innovationen und „Fleiß und Wille“, dem Leitspruch, der sich auch im Familienwappen wiederfindet, der Aufstieg zum Großindustriellen.

Gemeinsam mit seiner Gattin Julie Marcelline (geb. Kadich; 1812 – 1887) hatte er nicht weniger als 10 Kinder und 72 Enkelkinder und legte somit nicht nur den Grundstein für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg, sondern begründete gleichsam eine Dynastie, die bis in die heutige Zeit ihren Fortbestand hat. Die Familie zählt hunderte Mitglieder und ist weltweit durch Heirat vielen anderen Dynastien verwandtschaftlich verbunden.

Seine Söhne Carl Ferdinand (1824 – 1896) und Georg Heinrich (1840 – 1904) erweiterten das Unternehmen (1864 Gründung der Presshefe- und Spiritusfabrik in Wien-Floridsdorf, 1983 Gründung der Brauerei St. Georg); ihre Brauerei war die drittgrößte Europas.

Unter seinem Enkelsohn Victor (1865 – 1919) erfolgte die Fusion der Brauerei mit den Firmen Dreher-Meichl zur Firma Vereinigte Brauereien Schwechat, St. Marx, Simmering AG.

Es folgten in der Leitung der Unternehmen Georg Heinrichs Söhne Theodor I. (1869 – 1947) und Georg Anton (1875 – 1934), die von Victor die Hefe- und Spirituserzeugung in St. Marx sowie den Filialbetrieb in Simmering übernahmen.

Theodors Söhne Gerhard (1901 – 1971) und Manfred (1903 – 1981) sowie Georg Antons Söhne Georg III. Heinrich (Buwa) (1904 – 1982) und Gustav (1909 – 1970) – alle Urenkel von Adolf Ignaz’ – spielten im Familienunternehmen, zu dem auch ein bedeutender Anteil der Brauerei Schwechat gehörte, eine wichtige Rolle.

Prof. Dr. h.c. Manfred Mautner Markhof (1927 – 2008) und Georg J. E. Mautner Markhof (1926 – 2008), beide Ururenkel, waren im 20. Jahrhundert die bedeutendsten Unternehmerpersönlichkeiten der Familie.