Carl Ferdinand

Carl Ferdinand Ritter Mautner von Markhof / 16.4.1834 – 1.9.1896

Born in Smirice/North Bohemia, he moved to Vienna in 1841 with his parents Adolf Ignaz and Julie Marceline and his five siblings, who had been born until then, in a large carriage pulled by strong horses. The father had taken over the operation of the old brewery in the Citizen Hospital St. Marx from the following year with a lease concluded in 1839. Carl was seven years old at the time and had to fetch milk for his little siblings at the service areas. From St. Marx, he went to the local school in the suburb of Landstraße, in winter skating along the frozen Wiener Neustädter Canal. Moreover, his father introduced him to the family practice of brewing beer and distilling alcohol, including all commercial matters, which had been practiced for generations. At the age of 14, at the beginning of the memorable revolutionary year 1848, he was sent to the English brewery Guinness for training.

In 1851, after Adolf Ignaz had been granted the state authority to produce pressed yeast and spirit under the company name “Ad. Ig. Mautner” in 1856, he applied for the power of attorney granted to his eldest son and soon thereafter registered the articles of association concluded on 15 April 1858 with the new company signature Ad. lg. Mautner & Sohn with the commercial court. At this time, Carl Ferdinand joined the company as a partner. After his parents moved to the newly purchased family house on Franziskanerplatz in 1871, the management of the St. Marxer Brewery, which now grew into a large industrial enterprise, was transferred to Carl Ferdinand in the following years. There were many innovations there: For example, black water buffalos were purchased to pull the heavy cars loaded with beer barrels. This also included a newly equipped pool for bathing the animals. In contrast to the Hungarian oxen of the Dreher brewery, they were supposed to draw attention to the Mautner beer with their twisted and protruding horns. In 1876, he took over the management of the breweries in St. Marx and Simmering (brewery, spirit and compressed yeast factories).

In 1863 Carl Ferdinand married Johanna Kleinoscheg, a very young woman from Graz, who gave birth to 7 children within 8 years. She died on June 28, 1872, at the age of not quite 26. In 1874 Carl Ferdinand married for the second time Editha Freiin Sunstenau von Schützenthal (born 1846, deceased 1918) from an Austrian officer family. The Austrian Biographical Encyclopaedia (Volume 6, 1975) highlights her as an “active promoter of higher education for girls”. She was a board member of the Vienna Women’s Employment Association and the Association for Women’s Higher Education (President 1912 – 1918), which in 1892 founded the first humanistic grammar school for girls in German-speaking countries (Schulhaus Rahlgasse 4). It is also thanks to her influence that the daughters were not only married to aristocrats, but were also allowed to marry artists (the secessionists Kolo Moser and Josef Engelhart). Carl Ferdinand left behind a total of 10 children, among them the only son Victor. Of the eight grandchildren who had to wear the German Wehrmacht uniform during the Second World War, five did not return home from the East.

Like his parents before him, Carl Ferdinand left the residence in the brewery with his family in 1880 and moved to Landstraßer Hauptstraße 138, where he gladly invited friends and their families, among them the Billroth assistant Anton von Frisch, the sculptor Carl Kundmann or the archaeologist Otto Benndorf, whose excavations in Ephesus he generously supported. He also supported the Vienna Künstlerhaus with considerable sums and, above all, arranged for a remarkable expansion of the children’s hospital founded by his father. His bust, created by Kundmann, adorned his ballroom. Carl Ferdinand also created a rich collection of paintings and acquired Rodaun Castle in 1881.

In 1896, more and more plagued by depression, he voluntarily put an end to his life by shooting his head with a shotgun. On the floor, next to his body, a note with the following content was found: “Please give me the last blessings”.

By and for the descendants of Carl Ferdinand & Johanna Leopoldine Kleinoscheg & Editha Freiin Sunstenau von Schützenthal

Carl Ferdinand Ritter Mautner von Markhof by Theodor Mayerhofer für das Wiener Salonblatt v. 6. September 1896

Carl Ferdinand Ritter Mautner von Markhof

Carl Ferdinand Ritter
Mautner von Markhof

Kinder des Carl Ferdinand

Carl Ferdinand

Carl Ferdinand Ritter Mautner von Markhof / 16.4.1834 – 1.9.1896

Zur Welt gekommen in Smiřice/Nordbömen, übersiedelte er 1841 mit seinen Eltern Adolf Ignaz und Julie Marceline und den fünf bis dahin geborenen Geschwistern, in einem großen, von starken Pferden gezogenen Wagen nach Wien. Der Vater hatte mit einem 1839 geschlossenen Vertrag vom folgenden Jahr an pachtweise den Betrieb der alten Brauerei im Bürgerspital zu St. Marx übernommen. Carl war damals sieben Jahre alt, an den Raststätten hatte er für die kleinen Geschwister Milch zu holen. Von St. Marx aus ging er in die örtliche Schule in der Vorstadt Landstraße, im Winter mit Schlittschuhen auf dem zugefrorenen Wiener Neustädter Kanal dahinschleifend. Im Übrigen wurde er von seinem Vater in die seit Generationen von der Familie geübte Praxis des Bierbrauens und Alkoholbrennens, einschließlich aller kommerzieller Belange, eingeführt. Als 14jährigen, zu Beginn des denkwürdigen Revolutionsjahres 1848, sandte man ihn zur Ausbildung in die englische Brauerei Guinness.

Nachdem Adolf Ignaz 1851 die Landes-Fabriksbefugnis zur Erzeugung von Presshefe und Spiritus unter der Firmenbezeichnung „Ad. Ig. Mautner“ erhalten hatte, meldete er 1856 die seinem ältesten Sohn erteilte Prokura an und ließ bald darauf den am 15. April 1858 abgeschlossenen Gesellschaftsvertrag mit der neuen Firmenzeichnung Ad. lg. Mautner & Sohn beim Handelsgericht eintragen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt trat Carl Ferdinand als Kompagnon in das Unternehmen ein. Nach der Übersiedlung seiner Eltern in das neu angekaufte Familienhaus auf dem Franziskanerplatz, im Jahre 1871, ging in den folgenden Jahren die Leitung der nun zu einem großen Industriebetrieb anwachsenden St. Marxer Brauerei an Carl Ferdinand über. Es gab dort viele Neuerungen: Zum Beispiel wurden schwarze Wasserbüffel zum Ziehen der schweren, mit Bierfässern beladenen Wagen angeschafft. Dazu gehörte auch ein neu eingerichtetes Bassin zum Baden der Tiere. Sie sollten mit weit abstehenden, gedrehten Hörnern – im Gegensatz zu den ungarischen Ochsen der Brauerei Dreher – auf das Mautner-Bier aufmerksam machen. 1876 übernahm er vollends die Leitung der Betriebe in St. Marx und Simmering (Brauhaus, Spiritus- und Presshefefabriken).

1863 heiratete Carl Ferdinand die blutjunge Grazerin Johanna Kleinoscheg, die ihm innerhalb von 8 Jahren 7 Kinder schenkte. Sie verstarb daraufhin am 28. Juni 1872, im Alter von nicht ganz 26 Jahren. 1874 erfolgte die zweite Heirat mit Editha Freiin Sunstenau von Schützenthal (geboren 1846, verstorben 1918) aus einer österreichischen Offiziersfamilie stammend. Das österreichische Biographische Lexikon (Band 6, 1975) hebt sie als „tatkräftige Förderin der höheren Mädchenbildung“ hervor. Sie war unter anderem Vorstandsmitglied des Wiener Frauen-Erwerb-Vereins und des Vereins für erweiterte Frauenbildung (Präsidentin 1912 – 1918), der 1892 das erste humanistische Gymnasium für Mädchen in deutschsprachigen Ländern gründete (Schulhaus Rahlgasse 4). Ihrem Einfluss ist es auch zu verdanken, dass die Töchter nicht nur mit Adeligen verheiratet wurden, sondern auch Künstler (die Sezessionisten Kolo Moser und Josef Engelhart) ehelichen konnten. Carl Ferdinand hinterließ insgesamt 10 Kinder, unter allen den einzigen Sohn Victor. Von acht Enkeln, die die deutsche Wehrmachtsuniform im zweiten Weltkrieg tragen mussten, sind fünf aus dem Osten nicht mehr heimgekehrt.

Ebenso wie zuvor seine Eltern verließ Carl Ferdinand 1880 mit seiner Familie die Wohnung im Brauhaus und übersiedelte nach Landstraßer Hauptstraße 138. Hierher lud er gerne Freunde mit ihren Familien ein, unter ihnen den Billroth-Assistenten Anton von Frisch, den Bildhauer Carl Kundmann oder den Archäologen Otto Benndorf, dessen Ausgrabungen in Ephesos er großzügig förderte. Ebenso unterstützte er das Wiener Künstlerhaus mit namhaften Beträgen und vor allem veranlasste er eine beträchtliche Erweiterung des von seinem Vater gegründeten Kinderspitals. Seine, von Kundmann geschaffene Büste, zierte dessen Festsaal. Auch legte er eine reich bestückte Gemäldesammlung an und erwarb 1881 das Schloss Rodaun.

1896, mehr und mehr von Depressionen geplagt, setzte er seinem Leben durch einen Kopfschuss mit der Schrotflinte freiwillig ein Ende. Auf dem Boden, neben seinem Leichnam, fand man einen Zettel folgenden Inhalts: „Bitte um die heiligen Sterbesakramente“.

Von den und 
für die Nachkommen von Carl Ferdinand & Johanna Leopoldine Kleinoscheg & Editha Freiin Sunstenau von Schützenthal