Ludwig

Ludwig Joseph Ritter Mautner von Markhof / 11.8.1835 – 16.5.1918

He was an interested partner in techniques, but also in astrology, ready to talk, welcome to be seen. In 1906, he expressed his forward-looking ideas, which were probably somewhat fantastic for his time, in a lecture entitled “A Modern World View” at the Vienna Scientific Club, and with various inventions, including a “Telescripteur” a few years before his death.

Three times Ludwig is said to have been entrusted with the management of a factory after completing his university studies with the title of Doctor of Philosophy, but each time this resulted in catastrophic losses. For some times he had also taken over the supervision of the vinegar factory in Simmering, which belonged to his brother Carl Ferdinand independently of the St. Marx brewery. In a personal letter his father Adolf Ignaz explained to him what horrendous sums he had already spent for him and that he must therefore deny him another inheritance.

Ludwig has been married three times. First with Elisabeth von Buol (born 1831, deceased 1885). She came from an aristocratic family in the Swiss town of Chur, which was traceable to 1340. Her father had settled in Austrian Silesia. As the widow of the factory owner Julius Keil, Elisabeth was the mother of the brothers Keil von Bündten and Keil von Eichenthurn, who had been ennobled by Emperor Franz Joseph and were also related to Mautner Markhof by marriage. With Ludwig she had four children, born in Austrian Silesia. His second marriage took place in 1892 with Maria Anna Wallach (born 1861, died 1909), an accountant’s daughter. One daughter came from this marriage. It was not until 1912 that Ludwig entered into his third marriage with Anna Susanna Lang (born 1867 in Agram, deceased 1945 in Vienna). From 1901, onwards she had given him three sons who had died as minors.

A double portrait depicting him and his first wife was created by the respected painter Hans Canon (1829 – 1889) and four life-size portraits of his children from his first marriage are by Makart’s collaborator Franz Rumpler (1848 – 1922).

Excerpts from Ludwig’s will of 22 June 1915 (3 years before his actual death) addressed to his daughter Margarethe give a closer insight into his situation at that time:

“To the soul most familiar to me, my dear daughter Gerti!

That the venerable Sister Countess Schafgotsch had initiated things in such a way that three days ago I was ‘provided’ with the holy sacraments of death, certainly didn’t seem to me to be necessary at that time, at least not urgently. Today I want it to appear to me as foreseen. I see the beginning of the end! There I have a lot to say, how I think it should be held after my decease… Since I possess no own fortune, having only the use of various benefits for life, I can actually not dispose of a heritage, the less, since I owe you and your sisters large amounts, which you have partly turned to me directly or which would have had to be given to authorized persons if I had not spent years in speculation and inventions elsewhere, always in the certain expectation of finally seeing one of my works crowned with success! But that is still not the case today… Even the inheritance after your brother Adolph, which has fallen to you after all, I lost in the misleading belief in Hofmann’s unfortunate enterprise in London, the ‘telescripteur’, in the amount of about 50 thousand guilders so many years ago, thus including the interest income for you. I expressly confess to all the mentioned dept amounts to you three sisters.”

In spite of his four sons and four daughters, Ludwig did not leave any further physical descendants.

About the children of Ludwig & Elisabeth von Buol & Maria Anna Wallach & Anna Susanna Lang

Ludwig

Ludwig Joseph Ritter Mautner von Markhof / 11.8.1835 – 16.5.1918

Er war ein an Techniken, aber auch Astrologie interessierter, gesprächsbereiter, gerne gesehener Gesellschafter. Seine vorausblickenden, für die damalige Zeit wohl etwas phantastischen Ideen, hat er unter anderem 1906 im Wiener Wissenschaftlichen Klub, bei einem Vortrag mit dem Titel „Eine moderne Weltanschauung“, und mit verschiedenen Erfindungen, darunter wenige Jahre vor seinem Ableben mit einem „Telescripteur“, zum Ausdruck gebracht.

Dreimal soll Ludwig, nach seinem mit dem Titel eines Doktors der Philosophie abgeschlossenen Universitätsstudiums die Führung einer Fabrik übertragen worden sein, was jedoch jedes Mal mit katastrophalen Verlusten endete. Für einige Zeit hatte er auch die Aufsicht über die, seinem Bruder Carl Ferdinand unabhängig von der St. Marxer Brauerei gehörende, Essigfabrik in Simmering übernommen. In einem persönlichen Schreiben legte ihm sein Vater Adolf Ignaz dar, welche horrenden Summen er bereits für ihn ausgegeben hatte und er ihm daher ein weiteres Erbteil verwehren müsste.

Ludwig war drei Mal verheiratet. Zunächst mit Elisabeth von Buol (geboren 1831, verstorben 1885). Sie entstammte einer bis 1340 urkundlich rückverfolgbaren Adelsfamilie im Gebiet der Schweizer Stadt Chur. lhr Vater hatte sich in Österreichisch-Schlesien niedergelassen. Elisabeth war als Witwe des Fabrikbesitzers Julius Keil Mutter der von Kaiser Franz Joseph geadelten und durch Heirat ebenfalls mit Mautner Markhof verwandten Brüder Keil von Bündten und Keil von Eichenthurn. Mit Ludwig hatte sie vier, in Österreichisch-Schlesien geborene, Kinder. Die zweite Ehe schloss er 1892 mit der Buchhaltertochter Maria Anna Wallach (geboren 1861, gestorben 1909). Dieser Verbindung entstammte eine einzige Tochter. Erst im Jahre 1912 schloss Ludwig seine dritte Ehe mit Anna Susanna Lang (geboren 1867 in Agram, gestorben 1945 in Wien), die ihm von 1901 an drei noch minderjährig verstorbene Söhne geschenkt hatte.

Ein ihn und seine erste Ehefrau darstellendes Doppelportrait wurde vom angesehenen Maler Hans Canon (1829 – 1889) geschaffen und vier lebensgroße Portraits seiner Kinder aus erster Ehe stammen von Makarts Mitarbeiter Franz Rumpler (1848 – 1922).

Auszüge aus dem von Ludwig an seine Tochter Margarethe adressierten Testament vom 22. Juni 1915 (3 Jahre vor seinem tatsächlichen Ableben) vermitteln näheren Einblick in seine damalige Situation:

“An die mir vertrauteste Seele, meine liebe Tochter Gerti!
Dass die ehrwürdige Schwester Gräfin Schafgotsch die Dinge so eingeleitet hat, dass ich vor drei Tagen mir den heiligen Sterbesakramenten ,versehen wurde‘, schien mir damals gewiss nicht, mindestens nicht dringend, geboten. Heute will’s mir doch wie voraussehend erscheinen. Ich sehe den Anfang vom Ende! Da habe ich gar manches
zu sagen, wie ich es mir denke, dass es nach mir gehen soll … Da ich kein eigenes Vermögen besitze und nur die Nutznießung von verschiedenen Zuwendungen auf Lebenszeit habe, so kann ich eigentlich nicht über einen Nachlass verfügen, umso weniger, als ich ja Dir und Deinen Schwestern große Beträge schulde, die Ihr mir teils direkt zugewendet habt oder Euch Berechtigten hätten zukommen müssen, wenn ich selbst nicht in jahrelangen Spekulationen und Erfindungen eben anderweitig verausgabt hätte, immer in der sicheren Erwartung, doch endlich eine meiner Arbeiten von Erfolg gekrönt zu sehen! Das ist aber bis heute nicht der Fall… Sogar die Erbschaft nach Eurem Bruder Adolph, die Euch doch zugefallen ist, habe ich in der irreführenden Meinung in der unglückseligen Unternehmung Hofmann’s in London, den ,Telescripteur‘, in Höhe von circa 50 tausend Gulden vor so vielen Jahren, also samt den Zinsen Erträgnis für Euch verloren. Ich bekenne mich ausdrücklich zu all den angeführten Schuldbeträgen an Euch drei Schwestern.“

Trotz seiner vier Söhne und vier Töchter hinterließ Ludwig keine weiteren leiblichen Nachkommen.

Über die Kinder von Ludwig & Elisabeth von Buol & Maria Anna Wallach & Anna Susanna Lang