Beer brewer, benefactor and progenitor

Adolf Ignaz Mautner / 26.12.1801 – 24.12.1889

Born in Smiřice (Smiřitz, Czech Republic), after an exemplary career and his merits in 1872, he was awarded the noble title of Ritter von Markhof. In June 1831, he married Julie Marcelline Kadich, their marriage produced ten children.

Entrepreneurial success

In 1840, he moved to the Habsburg residence town and one year later began his exemplary career with the lease of the run-down brewery St. Marx on the Landstraßer Hauptstraße 173 – 175. Very quickly he prevailed against the overpowering competition of Dreher by being the first to produce year-round bottom-fermented beer, the so-called “Abzugsbier” (drawn off from the fermenting vats in storage barrels to complete the fermentation process). His main objectives were to improve the quality of this good beer, which until then could only be brewed in the cool season, and to deliver it when it was needed most, in summer. Initially, in the first quarter of the year he brewed over and above demand, storing the extracted stock in ice cellars and delivering it in April. However, this beer was not suitable for longer storage, and the investments for very large storage cellars were too high. The alternative, however, was to brew bottom-fermented throughout the summer. As early as 1843, the technically innovative brewery specialist therefore developed cooling devices with pipe systems through which water was fed with ice pieces and ice floats in the fermenting vats. He also created a new type of storage room, the “normal beer storage cellar system Mautner”, whose ice cooling made it possible to serve cool beer during the hot season. This considerable increase in production finally secured his reputation and the reputation of his brewery. He won the landlords for his product by offering them a ready, yeast-free “Abzugsbier”.

Through rationalization measures, multiple extensions, the construction of a malt house and brewery in Göding (Moravia) and the use of a steam engine from 1845 onwards, the production figures were constantly increased (in 1840 36,000 hl and in 1876 already 267,000 hl were produced).

Adolf Ignaz also ensured the success of his company with other products. Yeast, previously obtained from the top-fermented brewing process and then used for the production of white biscuits, had become a scarce commodity. Together with his son-in-law, the Graz brewer Johann Peter Reininghaus and his brother, the chemist Julius, he developed the “Wiener Abschöpfverfahren” (method to skim off beer) in 1847 for the production of high-quality baker’s yeast, which went into production in 1850.

This led to a stimulation of the export of Hungarian flour to Western Europe, whose sticky varieties were only suitable for “white bakeries” after the addition of compressed yeast. The development of the industrial production of compressed yeast, for which he not only won a prize awarded by the Viennese Bakers’ Guild and was awarded the Gold Medal of the Lower Austrian Trade Association, but also the process of which was subsequently accepted worldwide, finally secured his breakthrough and was at the same time a milestone in his life’s work.

In 1857, the successful entrepreneur bought the entire complex in St. Marx, including the former supply house, gardens and fields, for 275,000 guilders. When the St. Marx factory was no longer sufficient, he set up similar businesses in Floridsdorf (1864) and Simmering. At this time, the brewery was the third largest in Europe. In 1876, he handed over the Simmering brewery to his son Carl Ferdinand Mautner von Markhof, in the meantime ennobled, while the Floridsdorf brewery St. Georg had been managed by his son Georg Heinrich Mautner von Markhof since its foundation.

Humanitarian work

After handing over the management to his son Carl Ferdinand, he devoted himself to welfare and the foundation of numerous charitable institutions until the end of his life. During the wars of 1859, 1864 and 1866, for example, he built military hospitals in his companies and in 1875, together with his wife Julie Marcelline, donated the Crown Prince Rudolf Children’s Hospital (from 1921 Mautner Markhof’s Children’s Hospital). He transformed his birthplace in Smiřice into a supply house for old, destitute citizens, and in Baden near Vienna he built a kindergarten with a food outlet for poor schoolchildren. He also financed several orphanages and old people’s homes throughout Austria and orphanages in Vienna and Baden.

Awards and Honours

  • 1848 presidency of the Brewers Union for Vienna and the surrounding area
  • 1872 Order of the Iron Crown III Class
  • 1872 gold Salvatore Medal (double)
  • 1872 Knight’s Cross of the Order of Franz Joseph
  • 1872 raised to the nobility to Ritter Mautner von Markhof
  • 1879 honorary citizen of Smiřitz, Baden and Göding
  • 1881 Honorary citizenship of Vienna
  • Honorary citizen of Bořitz
  • 1890 Markhofgasse (3rd district Vienna)
  • Mautner-von-Markhof-Straße (Baden b. Vienna)
  • prize of the Viennese Bakers’ Guild
  • gold medal of the Lower Austrian Trade Association

Adolf Ignaz Ritter Mautner von Markhof was buried in an arcade crypt designed by Carl Kundmann at the Vienna Central Cemetery. Magnificent reliefs on his tomb still remind us today of three of his greatest benefactions: the foundation of an orphanage, old people’s home and children’s hospital.

Details of the crypt

Adolf Ignaz Mautner um 1850

Adolf Ignaz Ritter Mautner von Markhof

Adolf Ignaz und Julie Marcelline

Straßenschild Baden/Wien

By and for the descendants of Adolf Ignaz and Julie Marcelline

The history of the Mautner Markhof house was written down in the 1990s during a family celebration. Many members were involved and had lovingly collected the puzzle pieces and thus contributed to the fact that they could finally be published in this form.

Read more

Bierbrauer, Wohltäter und Stammvater

Adolf Ignaz Mautner / 26.12.1801 – 24.12.1889

Geboren in Smiřice (Smiřitz, Tschechische Republik) wurde er nach einer vorbildhaften Karriere und seiner Verdienste wegen 1872 mit dem Adelsprädikat Ritter von Markhof ausgezeichnet. Im Juni 1831 ehelichte er Julie Marcelline Kadich, ihrer Ehe entsprangen zehn Kinder.

Unternehmerischer Erfolg

Adolf Ignaz kam als Abraham Isaak Mautner an der Elbe in Böhmen zur Welt. Seine Familie betrieb dort ein Branntweinhaus und blickte bereits auf eine 200jährige Tradition im Braugewerbe zurück.

1840 übersiedelte er in die Residenzstadt der Habsburger und begann ein Jahr danach mit der Pachtübernahme des herunter gekommenen Brauhauses St. Marx auf der Landstraßer Hauptstraße 173 – 175, seine beispielhafte Laufbahn. Sehr rasch setzte er sich gegen die übermächtige Konkurrenz Drehers durch, indem er als erster ganzjährig untergäriges Bier, sogenanntes „Abzugsbier“ (abgezogen von den Gärbottichen in Lagerfässern, um den Gärprozess zu beenden), erzeugte. Seine wichtigsten Ziele waren die Qualitätsverbesserung dieses guten, aber bisher nur in der kühlen Jahreszeit braubaren Bieres und seine Lieferung zur Zeit des Hauptbedarfs, im Sommer. Zunächst braute er im ersten Jahresviertel über den Bedarf hinaus, lagerte den gewonnenen Vorrat in Eiskellern und lieferte ihn im April aus. Für eine längere Lagerung war dieses Bier jedoch nicht geeignet, und die Investitionen für sehr große Lagerkeller waren zu hoch. Die Alternative, die sich jedoch anbot, war, während des ganzen Sommers untergärig zu brauen. Deshalb entwickelte der technisch innovative Brauereifachmann bereits 1843 Kühlvorrichtungen mit Rohrsystemen, durch die Wasser mit Eisstückchen geleitet wurde, und Eisschwimmern in den Gärbottichen. Er schuf auch einen neuen Lagerraumtyp, den „Normal-Bierlagerkeller System Mautner“, dessen Eiskühlung den Ausschank kühlen Bieres während der heißen Jahreszeit ermöglichte. Durch diese erhebliche Produktionssteigerung waren sein Bekanntheitsgrad und der Ruf seiner Brauerei endgültig gesichert. Die Wirte gewann er für sein Erzeugnis, indem er ihnen ein fertiges, hefefreies „Abzugsbier“ anbot.
Durch Rationalisierungsmaßnahmen, vielfache Zubauten, die Errichtung einer Mälzerei und Brauerei in Göding (Mähren) sowie die Verwendung einer Dampfmaschine ab 1845 wurden die Produktionsziffern ständig gesteigert (1840 wurden 36.000 hl und 1876 bereits 267.000 hl erzeugt).

Adolf Ignaz sicherte den Erfolg seines Unternehmens darüber hinaus auch mit anderen Produkten ab. Hefe, bisher beim obergärigen Brauprozess gewonnen und dann zur Herstellung von Weißgebäck verwendet, war Mangelware geworden. Mit seinem Schwiegersohn, dem Grazer Brauherrn Johann Peter Reininghaus und dessen Bruder, dem Chemiker Julius, entwickelte er 1847 zur Herstellung hochwertiger Backhefe das „Wiener Abschöpfverfahren“, das 1850 in Produktion ging.

Dies führte zu einer Stimulierung des Exports von ungarischem Mehl nach Westeuropa, dessen klebrige Sorten sich erst durch den Zusatz von Presshefe für „weiße Kleinbäckerei“ eigneten. Die Entwicklung der industriellen Fertigung von Presshefe, wofür er nicht nur einen von der Wiener Bäckerinnung ausgesetzten Preis gewann sowie die Goldene Medaille des Niederösterreichischen Gewerbevereins verliehen bekam, sondern deren Verfahren sich in Folge auch weltweit durchsetzte, sicherte endgültig den Durchbruch und war zugleich Meilenstein in seinem Lebenswerk.

1857 kaufte der erfolgreiche Unternehmer um 275.000 Gulden die gesamte Anlage in St. Marx samt dem ehemaligen Versorgungshaus, Gärten und Äckern. Als die St. Marxer Fabrik nicht mehr ausreichte, errichtete er in Floridsdorf (1864) und Simmering ähnliche Betriebe. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt zählte die Brauerei zur drittgrößten ganz Europas. 1876 übergab er, inzwischen geadelt, den Simmeringer Betrieb an seinen Sohn Carl Ferdinand Mautner von Markhof, während der Floridsdorfer Betrieb schon seit seinem Bestehen von Sohn Georg Heinrich Mautner von Markhof geleitet worden war.

Humanitäres Wirken

Nach der Übergabe der Geschäftsführung an seinen Sohn Carl Ferdinand widmete er sich bis an sein Lebensende der Wohlfahrt und Stiftung zahlreicher wohltätiger Einrichtungen. So etwa errichtete er in seinen Betrieben Militärspitäler während der Kriege 1859, 1864 und 1866 und stiftete 1875 gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Julie Marcelline das Kronprinz Rudolf-Kinderspital (ab 1921 Mautner Markhof’sches Kinderspital). Sein Geburtshaus in Smiřice wandelte er in ein Versorgungshaus für alte, mittellose Bürger um, und in Baden errichtete er einen Kindergarten mit einer Ausspeisung für arme Schulkinder. Auch finanzierte er einige Waisen- und Altersheime in ganz Österreich und Waisenstiftplätze in Wien und Baden.

Auszeichnungen

  • 1848 Präsidentschaft der Brauherrenvereinigung für Wien u. Umgebung
  • 1872 Orden der Eisernen Krone III Klasse
  • 1872 Goldene Salvatormedaille (zweifach)
  • 1872 Ritterkreuz des Franz-Joseph-Ordens
  • 1872 nobilitiert zu Ritter Mautner von Markhof
  • 1879 Ehrenbürger von Smiřitz, Baden und Göding
  • 1883 Ehrenbürgerschaft von Wien
  • Ehrenbürger von Bořitz
  • 1890 Markhofgasse (3. Bezirk Wien)
  • Mautner-von-Markhof-Straße (Baden b. Wien)
  • Preis der Wiener Bäckerinnung
  • Goldene Medaille des Niederösterreichischen Gewerbevereins

Beigesetzt wurde Adolf Ignaz Ritter Mautner von Markhof in einer von Carl Kundmann gestalteten Arkadengruft auf dem Wiener Zentralfriedhof. Prachtvolle Reliefs an seinem Grabmal erinnern noch heute an drei seiner größten Wohltaten: der Stiftung eines Waisenhauses, Altenheims und Kinderspitals.  Details zur Gruft

Von und für die Nachkommen von Adolf Ignaz und Julie Marcelline

Adolf Ignaz und Julie Marcelline mit ihren zehn Kindern

Die Geschichte des Hauses Mautner Markhof wurde in den 1990er Jahren, im Zuge einer Familienfeier, niedergeschrieben. Viele Mitglieder waren daran beteiligt und hatten in liebevoller Kleinarbeit die Puzzleteile zusammengesucht, und so dazu beigetragen, dass sie letztendlich in dieser Form veröffentlicht werden konnte.

Mehr erfahren